Speed Racer: The Great Plan

A couple of months ago, my 7 year old son’s school had a library book sale. We picked up a copy of “Speed Racer: The Great Plan” for my 4 year old. It wasn’t a book he could read, but it had pictures on practically every page. Perfect.

Go Speed Racer, Go!

I remember the theme song from Speed Racer as a kid, but I don’t remember any of the storylines very well. I think it’s because it was playing right before school in the morning, so I probably only saw the first part of each episode. I think it was showing on KBHK 44 (remember how awesome that station when it was independent?). It’s funny how the UHF frequencies are now being used for digital TV.

When I was a kid, I related to Speed’s character the most (obviously). Now, I relate more to Speed’s father, “Pops” (especially since my 4 year old identifies with Speed).

The Great Plan

This is a fun episode because it tells the story of how the Mach 5’s engine came to be. It also captures the feeling that every entrepreneur has when they work for another company and realize that it’s time to move on.

There’s a scene where Pops (the entrepreneur) is pitching his idea for a radically advanced engine (the invention). The management team (the status quo) says “No thank you” in that rude cartoon way (think scoffing, yelling, and finger-pointing), and Pops quits because he knows his invention is revolutionary and can change the world.

Still have 46 pages to go

It was interesting to see some echoes in the story of my company and my invention. We’re not done yet, but we’re more than half way there. I’m not sure what will happen next, but I know it will have a happy ending. “Speed” agrees. 🙂

About Rino Jose

Trying to find good ways to develop software.

5 responses to “Speed Racer: The Great Plan”

  1. Tivius says :

    I’m a huge Speed Racer fan myself, so your notice came up in my Gmail alerts. Thank you – I enjoyed reading about your experiences with the book and your son – sounds like a wonderful time!

    If you haven’t already, be sure to check out the live-action movie the Wachowski Brothers made last year; despite all the humbug, fans and the young-at-heart absolutely loved it! It’s a visual spectacle that does a beautiful job of bringing the story to life. One of the most innovative (and most misunderstood) movies of the decade. I hope you enjoy it as well !

    GO GO GO!!!

    – T.

    *And good luck with your invention!
    Looks “beefy”, Pops! ^ ^

  2. Rino Jose says :

    Thanks for the thoughtful comment, @Tivius!

    My sons are enjoying the book. I told them they could watch the animated version on Hulu after we’re done — they can’t wait.

    After I wrote this post, my wife found a picture that my 7 year old drew of the “Mach 27”. I’ll see if I can scan it in and post it.

    I avoided the “Speed Racer” movie based on the reviews, but now I will definitely check it out.

  3. Rino Jose says :

    Watched the live action “Speed Racer” movie this weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. Oddly enough, when we went to brunch today, we saw a “Speed Racer” sign at the restaurant.

  4. Tivius says :

    Hey — that’s excellent! So glad you liked it!

    Funny, because I got home from work the other day (tired) and threw the DVD in while I ate dinner. Fell asleep on the couch, but when I woke up, the finale had just started; it still captivated me just as much as the first time I saw the movie! lol. Man, I LOVE the Grand Prix !
    Actually… all of the races are pretty grand.

    My family loves this movie; the boys and I each have a nearly full collection of the toy cars! Its awesome to share in the excitement with them!
    =D

    Anyhow… again, super glad to hear that you finally got a chance to see it. I hope it brought back some of the nostalgia and child-like wonder from years past.

    Take care, Rino.
    Keep fightin’ the good fight!
    -Tiv.

  5. Rino Jose says :

    Our boys love watching the races, too! I’ve watched the movie several times now, and it really is good. The plot was good, the casting was good (I had my doubts about John Goodman, but it really worked), the acting was good, I even liked Chim Chim.

    Take care, Tiv. Thanks for your encouragement!

Leave a Reply

