I decided not to work today

For some time, I’ve been working every day whenever I had the chance. Today, I decided that I wouldn’t work at all (well, I did work for 25 minutes this morning, but I committed to not working after that :-)).

The last time I had to take a break like this was the last time I had to go through this particular module in my app’s code. It’s the heart of our application and our differentiating technology–and every time I have to go back in, it makes my head hurt.

I’ve always had mixed feelings about this code. On the one hand, as I look through it, I’m reminded of how difficult it would be for someone to copy what we’ve done. It’s a deceptively simple problem that has gone unsolved until now. On the other hand, I’m disappointed in how difficult it’s been to code this up so it can be easily understood. I begin to suspect that this is one of those things that can’t be made simple.

In any case, I’ve decided to spend today without my laptop (I’m typing this up on my phone) and without looking at any code. I’m going to finish up this post, read some articles, and then head off early to bed.

Tomorrow, I’ll head into the code again. Hopefully, this will be the last time I have to do any significant coding here–after all, I still need to figure out how to sell this thing.

Maybe in my next post I’ll talk about my attempts at setting up meetings, getting product feedback, and getting people to give our product a try. If there’s anything you’re particularly interested in hearing about, feel free to leave a comment!

About Rino Jose

Trying to find good ways to develop software.

Leave a Reply

