Just read “What matters now”

I was planning to spend this morning working on a talk I’m giving in January, but as I skimmed through my RSS reader, I saw that Seth Godin just put together a book containing the ideas of several dozen insightful thinkers, so I decided to read this instead. It’s a free e-book called “What Matters Now”. You can find it here.

As I was reading through this, I remembered coming across many of these people in other contexts. I bought Steven Pressfield’s “The War of Art” at Powell’s Books in Portland. I first saw Hugh MacLeod’s work at changethis.com in an e-book called “How to Be Creative“. Some of their ideas are new (to me), a few summarize books or posts, some express what’s been learned over a career, others offer an opinion or a key insight.

One of the overarching themes of the project is that if you give something of value to the community or the world, you’ll get more back. If you’re someone like Seth Godin, this will come easily to you. For everyone else, I think it’s more of a challenge. I like Steven Pressfield’s comment here:

“I must confess that so far the only part I’ve mastered is giving it away.”

I haven’t really tried this yet. But I will now. I think I’ll start by putting my talk up on SlideShare. I’ll let you know where it is when I’m done.

BTW: If you’re in Silicon Valley on January 7, and would like to see my “value-based scheduling” talk, I’d be happy to meet you!

About Rino Jose

Trying to find good ways to develop software.

Leave a Reply

