Since I last blogged…

Just looked at my last blog post and saw the date was Apr 9, 2010. That’s almost  9 quarters. Since I last blogged, here are some of the things I’ve done and learned about myself:

  • Shut down my first startup
  • Got a job at LinkedIn in the mobile team
  • Helped rewrite LinkedIn’s mobile server from the ground up in node.js
  • Learned Clojure (and love it)
  • Went from SW Eng to Eng Manager (again)
  • Got a ton of experience running (and troubleshooting) servers at internet scale
  • Learned that internet companies go much, much faster than other types of software companies
  • Learned that some of management advice I’ve been giving in Management Revolution doesn’t apply when companies move really fast
  • Found that under stress, I get angry (you wouldn’t like me when I’m angry)
  • Found that I really like writing software and I really like being in a leadership role
  • Found that I seem to have a knack for winding up in leadership roles even when I don’t seek them out (or even want them at times)
  • Found that I like the role of “ronin warrior” than samurai
  • Found that if I drink too much tea and not enough coffee, I get too mellow
  • Found that after two years, there’s still not a good tool for managing groups of people across multiple projects
  • Selling to enterprise customers sucks
  • Getting individuals to try a product is much easier than getting a group to try a product
  • It’s impossible to convince someone to change how they work
  • I love my iPhone thousands of times more than my Android.
  • I want to try starting another company
About Rino Jose

Trying to find good ways to develop software.

One response to “Since I last blogged…”

  1. Marcus Prato says :

    Hey! Glad to see you are blogging again. I’m your New Relic rep and have been trying to get in touch with you to discuss your New Relic service via Engine Yard- I can save you significant money each month by what amounts to a 5 minute billing change- are you available this week to chat for 15 minutes? Thank you, Marcus Prato

Leave a Reply

